X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • joostenjohn60
    • Nov 2004

Onkyo

Hi.
    I was wondering if I owned standard onkyo stuff if i can still post questions and possibly answers on this list. I am a home theatre installer on OZ and I have 3 home theatres in the house one powered by a Tx-DS575 running 5.1 one powered by a TX-SR601 at 6.1 and one running at 7.1 powered by a brand new TX-SR702. I always try to convince my customers to buy Onkyo as I believe it to be not only one of the best but also one of the most user friendly.
    John
  • Burke Strickland
    • Sep 2001

John -- Welcome to HT Guide and Club Integra.

Feel free to post your questions (and answers) about Onkyo gear here. As long as it isn't a direct sales pitch for your services or equipment in stock, your insights as an installer would be helpful to others. I happen to agree that, overall, Onkyo/Integra/Integra Research products compare very favorably with what else is out there -- IOW, constantly among the best in their price ranges -- and are exceptionally user friendly. (If I didn't feel that way, I'd probably be moderating a different forum) :>) They also tend to have more features that make them very suitable for custom installations.We'll look forward to your participation.

While the focus of this area is on the mid to higher end of what Onkyo sells (Integra and Integra Research), Onkyo is to Integra as Toyota is to Lexus or Honda is to Acura. While there are some important distinctions, the family resemblance is still very strong. Perhaps even more so with Onkyo/Integra/Integra Research than with the cars, since all the Onkyo groups share the same US mailing address and toll free phone number. As for the equipment, the distinctions really gets blurred at the top of the lines, since the feature sets are very similar and upgrade offers have been about the same.