X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • pdmonty
    • Nov 2014

B&W 703 damaged tweeter question???

First let me say I'm so glad I found this forum. I am brand new to the world of B&W and am blown away by both the speakers themselves as well as the loyal following they garner.

So here's my dilemma...

...I was recently gifted a pair of 703's, a HTM2 center and two dipole/surrounds (you heard right..."gifted") in near perfect condition from a "very" good friend. Only issue is that one of the tweeters on a 703 has invariably fallen victim, probably to the finger of a curious toddler who likes to push "buttons". It does not appear to affect the sound adversely (although I'm sure it has to be) but I have still been looking at ways to "pull" the tweeter diaphragm out. One person references trying duct tape on the end of a pin...doesn't work on a metal tweeter. Another said to try the really sticky tape that's used to hold up pictures on the wall but this sometimes leaves tape residue.

So here finally is the question. Will it do any good in the end, other than asthetically, to bother pulling out the tweeter? If the sound has been affected is there any true way to get it back to near normal functioning in this manner...or is it better to just buy a new tweeter period. I am very picky about my equipment so I will probably, eventually, get a new tweeter assembly but for now if the sound isn't two badly affected I'd take a temporary fix.

Thanks!
    Paul...

Current Modest Equipment:

B&W 703's (MAINS)
    B&W HTM2 (CENTER)
    B&W 686's (REAR SURROUNDS)
    DS7 (SIDE SURROUNDS)
    B&W ASW750 (SUB)
    B&W AS6 (SUB)
    MARANTZ AV7701
    MARANTZ MM9000 (2) (5 CH AMPS)
    MARANTZ MM7025
    MARANTZ MA6100 (2) (MONO AMPS)
    MARANTZ UD5007 (SACD/BD/CD)
    MARANTZ CD67SE (CD)
    PANAMAX M4300-PM (POWER CONDITIONER)
  • Kevin D
    Ultra Senior Member
    • Oct 2002