Is HTM61 as bad as this review indicates?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • epacke
    • Oct 2008

Is HTM61 as bad as this review indicates?

Hi!
    I've read a review on the new 600 series and it states that the HTM61 does a bad job as a center.

"The problem was the HTM61 center channel speaker. Despite the pedigree offered by its FST midrange, it blended poorly with the left and right 683s."

Does anyone share this experience? IMHO he seems to know what hes talking about most of the time... But then again, I'm an amateur.
  • videophile
    • Sep 2008

I suggest you ignore the review especially if, after auditioning, you find HTM61 satisfying to your ears. Even assuming it's that bad, which most people wouldn't notice anyway without reading the review, I think it's still a better (not necessary the best) match for 683 as compared to HTM62..

Comment

• hifiguymi
      Super Senior Member
      • Mar 2007

I agree, listen for yourself. The HTM61 doesn't sound the same as the 683 because it's not the same speaker. The HTM61 is the best match, outside of another 683, so that is the one to go with in my experience.

Eric

Comment

• wgriel
        • May 2006

I seriously doubt that the HTM61 is anywhere near as bad as stated in that review. I can't say for sure (I've never heard it), but it would shock me if B&W released something this dismal.

Comment

• hifiguymi
          Super Senior Member
          • Mar 2007

The HTM61 is not a bad sounding speaker, it just doesn't sound as good as a 683.

Eric

Comment

• epacke
            • Oct 2008

Thank you all for the good advise!

Thats the thing... I'm considering buying speakers and I'm going to use them mainly for movies.
            Of course I will listen to the speakers first but before I go through the hassle of moving them to my humble estate I'd like to know whether the opinion of the reviewer is shared by others.