X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Minivan
    • Jan 2005

B&W 705 - Best Amp?

I recently got a really good deal on a pair of B&W 705's. I'm happy with the sound of them, but know they can do better. They are currently powered on a Yamaha 757se. It's quite a good surround sound amp, but musically I think there's room for improvement.

I'm not sure whether to sell the Yamaha amp and get a higher end Rotel, or keep the Yamaha and add a Rotel power amp. Any thoughts? Anyone have experience with the 705's and what amps work well?

cheers,

John
    ----------------------------------
    Rotel RSX-1056, B&W 805S front, HTM4S centre, DS8S surround, REL Q201E sub
  • jim777
    • Mar 2005

Do you want a stereo setup or a 5.1 surround setup? For stereo, the RA-1062 will do very fine for the 705's unless you can afford more. Surprising integrated amp for it's price.

For surround, well, I'm no expert there..

Tell us what you want (2ch, 2.1, 5.1...), what you listen to, and whats your budget, and it will be easier to help out

Comment

• Minivan
      • Jan 2005

I am just wondering what power amps for 2 channel stereo would work well with the 705s. I think i'll keep the Yamaha 7.1 amp as a pre-amp and add a power amp to just power the 705s.

Mainly listen to electronic music like Aphex Twin.Daft Punk etc.

I was thinking of demoing a Rotel RB-1070 (130wpc) and/or Rotel RB1050 (70wpc). Is 70watts enough power?

cheers,

John

Comment

• jim777
        • Mar 2005

If you are going to be stereo only, why keep a 7.1 amp as a pre-amp? For the future? If not, try a good integrated like the RA-1062 and a good cd player like the RCD-1072. If you like that sound, buy that and sell the yamaha

Comment

• Pez
          • May 2004

My friend has the 705's paired with the Rotel 2 channel 70 wpc amp and it sounds great.

Comment

• Minivan
            • Jan 2005