X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • yfei
    • Aug 2005

N803 setup suggestions needed

Hi all! I am a newbie to the 800 series. My current setup of N803 is: Benchmark DAC1 -> Monster Interlink Reference 2 / RadioShack Fusion / RadioShack Gold -> Earthquake CineNova Grande 3 -> MIT Terminator 4 biwiring cable -> 803.

The sound is a little too bright, and a little lack of mid range. I am not sure if this is the charactor of N803, or problems in my setup?
    My previous setup is NAD C320BEE -> B&W 602 S3, also have bright high, but midrange is ok.
    I use Sennheiser HD580 connected to Benchmark DAC1's headphone out as the reference sound.

Any suggestion will be appreciated!
    Last edited by yfei; 04 September 2005, 03:31 Sunday.
  • sikoniko
    Super Senior Member
    • Aug 2003

perhaps its the rat shack cables?
    I'm just sittin here watchin the wheels go round and round...

Comment

• tedaudio
      • Nov 2004

N803

I have had matrix 802, n803 and currently have 803d. I found the n803 the most difficult to adjust the sound away from the characteristics you describe.
      I also found it most pronounced on the n803 while playing at low volumes, there definitely seemed to be a volume setting where this got less pronounced. Do you tend to listen at lower volumes?

Comment

• RobP
        Ultra Senior Member
        • Nov 2004

I have the same speakers, at first I found them a little bright, but after plying with some acoustic treatment and getting it placed correctly that all went away. How is your room treated?
        Robert P. 8)

AKA "Soundgravy"

Comment

• VictorHRS
          • Apr 2005

I have 803's and they sound as smooth as a Dynaudio 3.3 that I tested here, but with more extended and natural highs. I run Audioquest Coral ICs and AQ Slate for the speakers. The Corals are known for being warm sounding. I suggest you to try these, they were (maybe still are) in sale at hcmaudio...

Comment

• Djas_Puhr
            • Jun 2005

Hey yfei,