X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Wrightie
    • Apr 2005

7 series setup

Hi all, just jumped into the B & W cult by purchasing a 7 month old set of 703's. I have two sets of CMM 65's in my kitchen & Dining Room, sound beautiful. Advice needed:

1. I would like a set of 705's or similar for the rear speakers in the lounge to complement the 703's, any comments or thoughts would be useful.

2. I would like to get a HTM1 as the centre speaker. Would this balance well with the 7 series.

3. Any other advice on positioning, toeing in, placing on granite etc most welcome.

I've never before touched HiFi stuff before (I'm a newbie) so please keep things simple, thanks.

Regards

Wrightie
  • martino
    • Aug 2004

A assume you mean the old HTM1...I feel that would be overkill with the 703's.. I have the old HTM2 (now HTM4S) with 704's and am very pleased. I feel one should keep the ctr channel within the same product range as the mains..unless you plan to upgrade the mains to 800 series in the future (i am going from 704's to 803's next month).
    As far a toe-in etc.....just listen and play around with set up..try to keep the 703's about a foot from the wall (if they have a rear bass port like the 704's).

Have fun!

Martin

Comment

• Wrightie
      • Apr 2005

Hey Martino,

Thanks for replying quickly. I'm not sure if it's the "Old" HTM1 but it's in the Nautilus range. I think it looks great with the 703's & will sound good too. However, with you saying it may be overkill could be a deciding factor. Do you think it may "Out perform" the 703's?

I've looked at the HTM7 & it looks "Boxy" to me. Aesthetics matter in my setup as I know I don't have to worry about the quality of the sound......

I've also been looking at the "FPM5" flat speaker which will match my LCD screen when I get it, any thoughts?

Thanks once again, keep up the good advice.

Cheers

Comment

• RobP
        Ultra Senior Member
        • Nov 2004