X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Stockinv
    • Jan 2005

Mismatched Center Channel

I'm a relative newbie. I'm considering the new 802's for my HT. My TV is above my fireplace and the center channel needs to be placed above the TV.
    I don't think I can fit a comparable center channel in this location. The weight and size would be a problem. What will be the effects on my system if I go with a lower quality center channel? Any recommendations?
  • Stockinv
    • Jan 2005

Specifically, would an HTM1 center be compatible with the new 802D mains?

Comment

• RobP
      Ultra Senior Member
      • Nov 2004

Your center channel does not need to be placed above your TV, actually that is a bad place for it. It is usually placed there because its easy. I have my HTM1 on the floor on a sound anchor stand. This gets the center channel closer to the same height to the mains.Now I dont know how much you use your fireplace so that may be a problem.
      Robert P. 8)

AKA "Soundgravy"

Comment

• greggz
        • Jun 2002

Technically, if your left and right front speakers are 6 to 8 feet apart, you don’t really need a center channel for HT. (You will almost never get this advice from a salesman )

The purpose of a center channel is for very small or very wide screens. When a screen is very small, just having stereo fronts can make the sound stage seem disproportionately large relative to the picture. If you have a very wide screen and your left and right fronts are 9 feet or more apart, you need the center to anchor the sound in the middle.

If feasible in your room, you would get a much more satisfying front soundstage with just a pair of 802D's 6 to 8 feet apart than you would sticking any of the HTM's in the middle.
        Gregg

Our Home Theater

Comment

• jlee
          • Aug 2004

While technically I agree with Greggz, in practice, I've found benefits of a center channel.