X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • masman71
    • Aug 2004

Newbie Advice

I am new to HIFI, but I recently graduated and decided my Bose bookshelf speakers and Teac receiver needed an upgrade. I decided to focus on a music system, but I couldn't justify spending large amounts of money on a system and not have it also run a home theatre system. On my budget, I searched and decided to start my system with two dynaudio 42 and two dynaudio 42w for my front and rear speakers respectively. At the same time I purchased a Rotel RSX-1056 (the reason I posted in this thread). I have been more than pleased with this setup to this point. However, my budget limited any further purchases. I am currently running a bose center speaker (VCS-10), I don't have a subwoofer, my dvd/cd player is substandard, and my television is not cutting the mustard. So, I need some advice. I have a little over a $1000 to spend on an A/V component. Given this set of circumstances would you buy a complementing center speaker, buy a subwoofer, Wait, save money and upgrade the television, buy DVD/CD player, or even buy something I haven't thought of previously. Any ideas/suggestions? Another new guy question: I currently live in Houston. Where should I be looking for audio/video equipment? Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance.
  • aud19
    Twin Moderator Emeritus
    • Aug 2003

Well without a better TV the better DVD player would be a waste IMO and vice versa. I'd say centre or sub depending on you personal preference of if you think the bass is lacking more or dialogue could be better.

Jason
    Jason

Comment

• masman71
      • Aug 2004