X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • motoxlrg
    • Nov 2005

Bargain or burden

Greetings All,
    I'm a complete rookie and I am facing an issue that hopefully I can get through with some borrowed experience. I have a Rotel RSP1068 & RMB1075 and planned to purchase a complete Klipsch 7 speaker set. A friend has a set of Mordaunt-Short 908's, the 905 center, 903s rears, and the 909w sub which he will sell me for 1/4 the price I was paying for the Klipsch system. If anyone owns or at least has auditioned these speakers I would really appreciate your input.
    -Jim
  • Glen B
    Super Senior Member
    • Jul 2004

Getting opinions of others is fine, but nothing can replace auditioning speakers yourself. See if your friend will allow you to listen to the Mordaunt-Shorts at your home before making a decision. Likewise, visit the Klipsch dealer and listen to the speakers you are interested in. In the end, its what sounds best to your ears that matters.
    Last edited by Glen B; 14 November 2005, 15:29 Monday.

Comment

• P-Dub
      Office Moderator
      • Aug 2000

I'm goig to have to agree with Glen. You need to go an hear these in person. What do you have now?

But, there's always a but, do you think you could resell the Mordaunt's and recoup your costs? That way you can have them to compare with the Klipsch. Most dealers will allow in home demo's. You may find that you like the sound of the Mordaunt's better once you have them in your room.
      Paul

There are three kinds of people in this world; those that can count, and those that can't.

Comment

• Clive
        Former Moderator
        • Jan 2002

Hi Jim I would like to also extend my Welcome to you and thanx for posting.

In addition to what the above members have said, I'd like to add this........make sure you bring or use the same material (DVD) & track to demo the speakers and try to make it within the same time period. This way you'll get a real sense of the speakers :T
        CLIVE