X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • saurabhbatra
    • Sep 2005

home theater advise about receiver and speakers

hi guys i am a newbie and this will be my second hometheater the first one was a HTIB so had no decisions to make....
    now i have been reading a lot and have shortlisted on the following configration
    1) Panasonic 50" 500U series plasma
    2) Yamaha RX-V series receiver i am thinking 2500 as 4600 will be overkill though i am also considering pioneer elite receiver VSX-72TXV which i like because of ipod compatibility but i need advice on this
    3) I have a basic sony dvd player with component output but i dont think it has progressive output should i consider replacing it too...??
    3) speaker is the biggest problem for just donno what to get... i know it sounds lame but i cant make up my mind

please advise

saurabh
  • David Meek
    Moderator Emeritus
    • Aug 2000

Hi Saurabh, welcome to The Guide. :welcome:

2) The 2500 is a nice receiver (I"m a Yamaha RX-V1 owner), but if you've got the coin then go for the 4600. Updated YPAO, HDMI, component up-conversion, zone 2 management & zone 3 volume control. Very tasty.

3) Definitely get a progressive-scan DVD player, especially if you are purchasing a 16:9 TV. The improvement in quality is very nice.

4) We'll need a bit more information to provide you with good options. How do you like your sound? Bright? Clean? Warm? Loud? Detailed? Relaxed? Can you give us a budget? Is it a big room? Do you have a "significant other" to deal with? Do you like stand-mounted speakers or towers?

David - Trigger-happy HTGuide Admin

Comment

• PewterTA
      • Nov 2004

I would definitely replace the DVD player, Progressive output is a must on a screen that size.

It's tough to tell you what speakers to go with... Personally the speaker/receiver matching is a tough thing. Some receivers sound good with brand X speaker, while others don't.