X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Blakwing
    • Feb 2005

Integra 6.5 or Onkyo 801?

Hello all.. I'm a newbie to these forums. I've read quite a bit here and you seem like the people to ask.

I'm facing a choice and I don't know which way to go.
    Either get the Onkyo 801 or an Integra 6.5?
    I've had little luck online comparing and even less luck with the salesmen..

Both are 100w per channel 7.1 recievers. What is the real pressing difference between the two? Is the Integra really so much a better reciever that it justifies an extra $300?

I have a bit of a Frankenstein on my hands and am trying to upgrade it as I go along.
    I have an Onkyo TX SV 414 Pro reciever that has served faithful daily duty for me for over 12 years.. It needs an update.
    I currently have 2 Cerwin Vega RE 3.0 main speakers, an old Infinity Video 1 center speaker and 2 JBL 2500 bookshelf speakers.

With this tax refund check I'm looking to begin upgrading my system..
    We're starting with a Mitsubishi 55515 HD CRT projection, a Klipsch RW-12 sub and a choice between these 2 recievers..

Try as I might I just can't find any good or comparable info on the two of them. The shop sales guy of course is selling the INtegra.. Top of the line.. Better components, gold this, 2 year warranty yada yada yada..
    Is the difference between the two that noticable or marked? Or is this the kind of thing that you'll need a SPL meter, 5 mic's and a computer to discern any real differences?
    I'm looking long haul.. I want this reciever to carry me for the next 10 years just like the old one did. So I do want a decent piece.

Any and all help you guys can give me would be tremendously appreciated.

Thanks and Helloooooo to you all!
    Blakwing
    DHG171
  • Christian M
    • Feb 2005

blakwing,