X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • oneplustwo
    • Jan 2010

SR71 Build

Hey folks! I'm another noob here so just wanted to introduce myself. I'm fairly active over in the head-fi.org DIY forums so shout-out to those of you who also participate over there. And of course, I've now discovered this community of DIY-ers that will surely be a further strain on my wallet.

Speaking of which, I'm looking for help on how to spend my money.

As background, my current setup has a cheapy integrated amp feeding a pair of Boston Acoustics VR900's. These are the ones with powered subs in the bottom of the cabinet and a mid and tweeter on the top. They've been "ok" over the last 9 years or so and I don't really have any complaints as they've been fine for all around TV/movie/music duty in my small living room.

Over the last year or so, I've built a number of high end DAC's and headphone amps for my Sennheiser HD650's and now would like to expand my listening universe to higher end stereo speakers. I don't feel a need for huge low end as my house shares walls with my neighbors. Instead, I'm thinking that something in the family of the Zaph ZRT or ZA5 might be a good first project given the availability of complete kits with or without cabinets. Of course, there are different flavors of both of those at different price points but my first question is whether one of those two kits would be a good first foray into DIY speakers that would satisfy me given my semi-relevant reference of my headphone listening.