X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • john trials
    • Mar 2009

John's Statement build

I'm joining the Statement family. I've been working on mine for about a month or so now. Progress is slow, due to all the other things summer brings along with it (and my wood shop is quite limited, so I'm slow).

Thanks to Jim, Curt, and Wayne for the excellent design and plans. I've been having a lot of fun building these. I'm new to the DIY speaker hobby, and I really enjoy it. I can hardly wait to hear these things!

I decided to build the Statements because I wanted a really nice set of speakers, but I didn't want the added expense or complexity of a subwoofer. I wanted a speaker that could do it all by itself. My main use is for music, with an occasional movie. I have no interest in 5.1 or 7.1 right now (although that could change...I'm wondering what to do with the left over MDF).

My build is fairly standard, with the only changes being:
    1) Rear port. I wasn't sure what I wanted to do for a base, so to leave my options open, I moved the port to the rear.

2) I added some captured T-nuts to the bottom of the cabinet. They were mounted onto a 1.75 square of 3/4" thick MDF, then captured with another square piece of MDF that has a blind hole cut in (it in case the screw protrudes through the T-nut). It also totally seals the hole in the base without relying on the screw to seal it.

3) I decided to make outriggers for my base. They are not as tall as the base in the original plans, so I moved the 5 drivers up by 2.5"
    Statements: "They usually kill the desire to build anything else."
  • john trials
    • Mar 2009

Mid tunnels with tweeter relief:

Click image for larger version

Name:	tunnels no braces.JPG
Views:	8029
Size:	82.0 KB
ID:	854582

Mid tunnels glued up with some alignment blocks (yeah, i'm an engineer!)

Name:	tunnels clamped.JPG
Views:	5119
Size:	91.6 KB
ID:	854583

Completed mid tunnel assembly:

Name:	tunnel assembly finished.JPG
Views:	5058