X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • jbruns
    • Feb 2008

NewB working on Noobster 2way

Hi All,

This is my first post here... I have been troll'n around here for a while now, just learning. Played around with building some boxes in teenage years (for cars) but now I am bringing it back and moved to the home theater. This is my thead for my first project. The Noobster.

Thanks to augerpro for his design...
    Last edited by theSven; 09 March 2023, 12:39 Thursday. Reason: Update URL for htguide
    JB 8)
  • jbruns
    • Feb 2008

So I need help with the Xover

So This is my first xover I have ever done. I have some electronics experience so I understand about 95% of this So, can someone please comment on this layout and if the connections look correct?

Click image for larger version  Name:	cross-over_test.jpg Views:	0 Size:	95.4 KB ID:	929220

Edit: added Co design
    Click image for larger version  Name:	Noobster_XO.jpg Views:	0 Size:	60.6 KB ID:	929221
    Last edited by theSven; 09 March 2023, 12:34 Thursday.
    JB 8)

Comment

• augerpro
      Super Senior Member
      • Aug 2006

Sorry I missed this post for so long! Your XO looks correct. I do have two suggestions though. I would use these terminal strips for R4 and R5 so you can quickly adjust the tweeter. You really must adjust this to what sounds good for you as it has a large impact on tonal balance and that's typically a personal taste thing to large extent.

Also consider paralleling two 36ohm resistors together for R10 to double power handling from 10 to 20 watts. If you run these fullrange it won't be a problem, but if you cross to a sub the potential is there to over power these. You can try it how it is for now but when you start listening to these check to see if those resistors get warm during use. If they do, double up on them.