Three-way tower with Dayton RS225's, Help needed.

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • m_bathke
    • Mar 2005

Three-way tower with Dayton RS225's, Help needed.

So I am new to the whole DIY loudspeaker thing, but this is what I am looking to do. I want to build a threeway tower speaker that will sound much better than the JBL e90 Towers which are TMWW araingement with dual 8" woofers. Anyway, I work for the largest consumer electronics store in the U.S.A. as a sales person in the Home theater department and I have come to realize just how bad some of the stuff that we carry sounds, hence the reason for me wanting to build my own in hopes to get something better for about the same money. Plus it will give me bragging rights because I can say, "hey I built this myself for less than you spent and it sounds twice as good" .

Anyway I was looking to spend hopefully less then $500 on the project(drivers and crossover components), which is about what I could get the E90's for. I was hoping to do a TMWW similar to the E90's but with a much more detailed sound and a higher F3 at about 55hz in a sealed encloser. Also I would like to follow the K.I.S.S.(keep it simple stupid) mentality on the crossover, because that way I have less stuff I can mess up. I was looking at doing 2nd orders for everything and my crossover points were selected accordingly, but I am very open to suggestion.

I have been reading all sorts of DIY speaker stuff for the past 6 months and I feel I have a pretty good grasp on the basic stuff, but I am extremely far from being an expert like some of the people on this forum. So don't dumb things down to much like I have to do when I sell TV's and Audio stuff to the average person.

The drivers I had planned on using are as follows:

DAYTON PT2B-8 PLANAR TWEETER, $32.00 Each