X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • PatG
    • Apr 2024

Another "newbie" looking for advice

It's fridgid outside and I have a little spare time so it looks like I'll be starting another speaker project. I still consider myself to be a newbie though I have been building speaker projects for about 12 years now, the problem is I have had sooooo many projects and soooo many interests that it was difficult for me to really zero in on just a handfull of hobbies. I am also becoming acutely aware of the value the phrase "jack of all trades master of none" holds in my life, so I've decided to dig deeper, much deeper than I ever have before and produce a really fantastic set of speakers in the process. This time I wanted to go elegantly simple, perhaps an MT using good quality european components, though I'm now starting to think about another MTM. The last project was a TMMMM using PE's 1 1/8 tweeter and 4 mcm 5" aluminum woofers, great presence and excellent, deep bass for a 5" driver but ho hum detail, lumpyish response in the upper end. I'd like to start all over again with a clean slate; money is an option, I have a couple hundred or so I can spare for the project, bass extension is not super important, detail and tonality are.... and oddly enough so are aesthetics. Hi-vi seems to have a descent line of drivers, I like the f6 but I read that there is a blip in the response just above 1khz, the m6n seems ok but it has limited excursion and a suspiciosly smooth response graph for a metal cone woofer plus there is VERY little info on the net for this manufacturer. The Peerless CSX line seems nice and safe as do GR research's woofers, North creek seems to have some great designs/drivers(especialy the D25-06s tweeter) @ very fair prices but I'm not finding much info on these and lastly I'm still waiting to see what PE's RS line of alloy woofers is capable of.Sorry about the gigantic paragraph and dreadfull spelling, any advice would be welcome.
    Thanks in advance !!