Some questions on diffusing and absorbing sound...

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • NoDestiny
    • Jan 2009

Some questions on diffusing and absorbing sound...

Hey gang. I'm trying to understand the concepts as a general. I have some knowledge, but I'm looking for more.

One of my biggest things I don't know (and I'm sure experience would help, but I want a good starting block on the universal knowledge first) is how to decide when to use something to diffuse the sound and when to use something to absorb it.

Bass traps are a given that when trapping in corners, you absorb. But what about first reflections? Is it always best to absorb, or is there a general rule or a true science of any kind that states when one should use diffusion? I'm not sure what the rest are called (2nd, 3rd reflections?), but in general, how is it best to tackle those (or are those even a real concern?)

I had another question, but typing all this made me forget it (I swear I'm A.D.D.)... ill post it later if I recall it.

If any of this is going to be too difficult to explain in a post, I would definitely appreciate a good read (article, book, whatever!). No specific room or install, I just want to expand my general knowledge and understanding to become more of a "pro" audio enthusiast
    Last edited by NoDestiny; 18 December 2009, 16:44 Friday. Reason: fixing horrible grammar :D
  • 1oldguy
    • Dec 2008

Could use help in this myself as well....Good Call.
    A Man should never Gamble more than he can stand to loose.

Comment

• NoDestiny
      • Jan 2009

Anybody?

Comment

• Ken49r
        • Dec 2007

Originally posted by NoDestiny
        Bass traps are a given that when trapping in corners, you absorb. But what about first reflections? Is it always best to absorb, or is there a general rule or a true science of any kind that states when one should use diffusion?