X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • trickstar74
    • Sep 2000

HTPC for Sony400Q

Hi all,
    I own a Sony 400Q 16:9 lcd panel projector which can only accept 540p with sync on green apparently. I am a novice to computers. I am running a pentiumIII 500mhz 8.4GB, 128MB SDRAM. I currently do not have a DVDrom drive or the other needed hardware or software. Can a novice add these, and will a HTPC run as smoothly as a stand alone dvd player? How well would it handle PAL dvd's as well as NTSC? Or, would I simply be better off with a dedicated processor like the CrystalImage?

Lastly, in laymens terms, since the 400Q already has it's own line doubler that upconverts what is fed into it, via the component inputs to its native resolution anyway, how much of a visible improvment is it? 10%? 20%? etc...
    Does it justify the cost/time involved to get one of these options running properly?? How much better does it look on an anamorphic dvd anyway??
    Can any one provide me with a specific scene on an anamorphic dvd that can show me an example of what failings this Sony's internal line doubler has, and possibly describe how it is bettered/overcome with either a HTPC or the CrystalImage?

I know it's a lot of questions. Unfortunately I have yet to see these Specific points addressed.

Thank you,
    trickstar74
  • ThomasW
    Moderator Emeritus
    • Aug 2000

Ok, now JonMarsh is an authority on the 400Q and HTPC, but I believe he's currently traveling on business, so I'll answer the best I can. Jon, I'm sure will drop in at a later date.

1)The Crystal Image scaler doesn't work all that well with the 400Q. This Jon told me directally, when I ask him the same question

2)Yes you can create a HTPC with your current system by adding a DVD ROM, proper graphics card, sound card, and appropriate software. But..