• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • madmac
    Moderator Emeritus
    • Aug 2010

Best earphones for portable MP3?

Hey all,

I'm BIG into mobile music and use my HTC Sensation as my portable music player. Currently, I use the Motorola "Motrorokr S9-HD" bluetooth wireless headset for most of my 'out of the house' and away from my main stereo listening. I've been using this headset for a couple of years now and love them (despite bad reviews from people who simply did not read the instructions or learn how to use wireless technology properly!!). The wireless aspect and advantage of this headset cannot be denied!!.

For Christmas, my wife got me a set of wired, mid priced Sennheiser headphones, and I could immediately notice more detail in the sound, not so much more bass.....but slightly better, tighter bass I guess. Bass seems to be the issue with the small, "in the ear" headphones. The high frequencies are noticeably better with the wired set but I just cannot get beyond the fact that I cannot change songs or volume without taking the player/phone out and making the adjustments there. The Motorokr's allow me to make track changes and volume adjustments via little controls on the side of the headset itself which is fabulous!!. Plus, I can also take phone calls as well!!.

I would be interested to hear feedback from this forum and the 'audiophile' tendencies here as to what headphones they prefer!!??.

Sound off folks!!. I am interested as to what headphones you prefer. Now, bare in mind that I have a set of over the ear Grado headphones that are of course... vastly better to what I am discussing here!!. I'm talking portable in ear phones in this case.

Looking forward to your views on this!! ;x(
    Dan Madden :T
  • Chris D
    Moderator Emeritus
    • Dec 2000