X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Chris D
    Moderator Emeritus
    • Dec 2000

Help me build my new PC

So it's time for me to build a new PC. My current desktop is a full 10 years old (wow... can you believe it?) and is for all intents dead. Wifey and I talked about options, such as going laptop-only, but we think we're always going to need a central family desktop, for doing projects, schoolwork for the kids, etc.

I've never built a PC before, but would like to do it this time. I'm a little daunted by the idea, especially when looking at all the options. So I really could use help from those who know about building their own PCs, and get suggestions/advice along the way, mostly about the hardware selection.

Big picture, I'm looking for a solid PC, middle class with a few high performance features. Nothing cheap, but it does NOT have to be a high-end gaming rig. Maybe $1000-$1300 or so? Flexible. My particulars:

- Usage would be varied for the family. Lots of websurfing, some use of Office-like computing. I'd do some A/V programming with it, such as URC remote controls.

- My wife and I would likely do some decent photography and A/V editing. My wife would love to get more into this, using her SLR camera we got her this year. I could see us editing home movies. Nothing professional. But to emphasize, it would need to have the processing to do the editing, but the rig itself does NOT need to be a high-end A/V player. We would not be using it as a HTPC, to formally play back the pictures, audio, or video. We'd use our home theater equipment for that.

- On the same lines, I want to use this computer to rip music and movies to high quality digital files. But don't need to have high-end playback capability.

- I might play some good games on it to test the system, but nowadays my PS3 does my primary gaming.