X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • gordo2
    • Sep 2004

Hitachi PJTX100 or DLP

I'm debating the purchase of the PJTX100 at a very good price. A sales person at a poplular chain store has told me that the LCD front projector is not a good choice and any DLP projector is better than the LCD. I plan to mainly watch sports, HDTV, and DVD's in that order. A concern I have is with some comments I hear about the blurring when during fast action, is the case for both DLP and LCD? I'm new to home theater systems and this site and would appreciate any help. My projector budget is around $5,500 if something was a stand-out but would like to get something in the $2,500 price range if possible.

Thanks,
    Gordo2
  • gordo2
    • Sep 2004

I should add that the DLP projector the sales person recommended was the Infocus 4805.

Thanks Again,
    Gordo2

Comment

• JonMarsh
      Mad Max Moderator
      • Aug 2000

As always, I keep coming back to "trust your own eyes".

This little Hitachi strikes me as being a pretty decent unit in it's class, especially if you can get a good price.

Check this thread for some comments:

The issues to be on the look out for any specific DLP are "rainbows", and temporal dithering. The latter is most obvious in fast moving low light scenes. Brighter scenes don't have so much problem. An over simplified explanation is that DLP's are either on or off, and approximate intermediate levels by pulse width modulation; in low light scenes, they have to be off most of the time, and have trouble responding accurately to scenes with panning or lots of mostion while maintaing good image detail.

LCD's have more issues about contrast ratio and sometimes banding due to panel issues. Hard to judge without seeing them. 1200:1 sounds pretty good as digital projectors go.