X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Ron67
    • Apr 2003

Rotel DVD Opinions?

As you know from my RSX-1065 posts, I'm upgrading most of my system. I have an old Sony DVD player that's moving up to my daughter's room so it needs to be replaced. I want to be able to play DVD-A as well as CD-R's and still get great picture quality etc. I've been looking at the Rotel RDV-1080 and the newer RDV-1060 (which my local shop doesn't have yet... not sure if it's officially out). They seem pretty nice but hard to get a comparison and I'm by no means an expert.

I just wanted to get some more opinions. Are there any owners in here...? They're not cheap and the only other units in the shop to compare them to are Marantz and then super high end Lynns and Meredians playing through $20k projectors which are waaaay out of my price range.

Bottom line, are they worth the extra $ and should I just get a cheaper unit and wait until Rotel comes up with something that plays all the formats including SACD?
  • gshisme
    • May 2003

It is a nice looking unit that would look great with my other Rotel units but where is the SACD. No SACD is a biggie!!!! I'm this close >< to purchasing the Denon 2900. It is a shame that the 1060 doesn't have SACD since this is a new unit. Seems it could be quite a while before we see one with SACD.

suds, suds, and more suds

Comment

• simonb68
      • Jan 2003

Ron (I assume its Ron)

I can't comment on the 1060, but I looked at the 1080 a while ago, and came to the conclusion that it was outdated and overpriced. Additonally it didn't have any scarts, though that probably doesnt bother you, but that meant s-video or component only, and I don't have component kit yet, so no RGB.

I demoed it against Primare and Arcam players and didnt think it compared picture wise, though sound wise it was close.

It is also a first generation DVD-A player based on a JVC machine. I would wait for the 1060 if you were going to look at Rotel.