X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • allend19
    • Mar 2003

marantz vs rotel..again

Hi Fellas,
    I'm a newbie to the forum, and to HT. picking up alot though from this forum. I Was also planning on going with Rotel route (just auditioned one and it blows me away). Now I was thinking of picking up the 1055 now, then adding the 5 channel amp in a couple of months. My dilemna is this: I went to another dealer who sold Marantz. And he suggested instead of buying the rotel 1055 now and adding an amp later, That I buy the Marantz 6300 and add an amp right away for about the same cost. He suggested that the rotel 1055 and the 6300 have the same pre/pro and the sound difference would be minimal. And if I wanted I could upgrade the marantz later for a dedicated pre/pro.
    I guess what he was essentially saying is that amps have a long shelf life, processors are constantly evolving- and I could enjoy great sound now with the marantz 6300 and a 5 channel amp, and when I want even better sound I could just buy a better processor

is his logic right?

I am thinking I'd get the rotel 1055 now, enjoy killer sound, and get get an amp later- and the 1055 makes a real good processor.

which way would you guys go?
    get the marantz 6300 now and an amp (had the anthem 3 channel 225 watt amp- can't rememebr the model)

or get the rotel 1055 now and get the amp later.

and does the 1055 make for a better preamp then the marantz 6300?

thanks for your help guys, hopefully with your feedback i can make an informed decision.

allen
  • Entice
    • Nov 2002

I don't think that I fully understand...

Why buy the additional power amp at all?

Does the 1065's power not meet your needs?

If it does, why not save the money?

However, if it's clarity you are after, and that's your reasoning for buying the power amp, why are you wasting your time and not going straight for clarity, and getting the separate processor. What you're saying doesnt make any sense...Or maybe I'm just confused...