X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Erkki
    • Feb 2004

An old RB-981 for B&W 805s?

Hi all. I'm looking for a _cheap_ poweramp to run my B&W Nautilus 805s, the pre-amp will be a Meier-Audio Corda Prehead pre-amp/headphone amp combo. One of the amps I could find at a reasonable price is a 2nd hand RB-981.

Now, how'd you rate the amp today assuming it is 100% OK?

What'd you think of the above mentioned combination?

Many thanks!
  • eelco74
    • Dec 2002

Hi,

I have been using my RB-981 for several years now.

First it powerd a very large 4-way Transmissione line system, and with ease.
    I tried both focal.jmlab Cobalt 816 as well as the Electra 906. The last one is my current main speaker.

The Electra 906 is about the same as the Nautilus 805, a high perfomance compact 2-way system.

I tried the RB-1070, but it sounded exactly the same. The only upgrade is a RB-991 of a RB-1080. however the 981 is a safe buy. Rotel amps will last for ages and have a good second hand value.

The only thing I modified, is replacing the fixed powercord. I added a power outlet and a detachable Supra Lorad 2.5 Mains cable.
    Marantz AV8802, Marantz UD8002, Rotel RB-991 and RB985mkii, Rotel RD960
    Focal/Jmlab Electra 1028S, Electra CC, Electra SW1000S, Cobalt 705
    Pioneer KRL-37V, Epson EH-TW8100, Kinkping CES-180 77"inch

Comment

• Erkki
      • Feb 2004

Thanks, eelco74!

Comment

• Erkki
        • Feb 2004

A further question.

As all you guys seem to upgrade from time to time, I just seem to go towards the low end here. Now I could find a still cheaper (having just bought an expensive house :M ) Rotel RB-971.

Is it _any_ good?
        Last edited by Erkki; 26 September 2005, 15:47 Monday.

Comment

• Marcel B
          • Nov 2004