X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • JaonL
    • Jan 2008

B&W 684 with Rotel Ra-05

Please help me. I'm fairly new to this. I'm trying to set up a good stereo system. I would like to know if anyone has experience with the B&W 684. Is it a good all rounder for all sorts of music. Does it match with the Rotel Ra-05. I'm on the verge of purchasing the amp and speakers. Have heard the 685's which have great reviews. It seems to me to be a bit thin though or not enough bottem when i listned to some music on it. The 684's appear to solve this but i'm not sure if it sacrifices on top end. The 685 seems to be a little brighter then the 684 and the 684's seem a bit darker but I like the better base, but am not sure if this speaker is weaker at the top end.

I've not read any revies on the 684 and am desperate for some help. The room that it must go into is small to medium sized.

Thanks
  • jack667
    • Jul 2007

Technically, the 684 is a 685 in a larger cabinet with an extra woofer. It has the same tweeter and midrange, so should sound very similar to 685, but with better ooommmph!
    B&W 683. Advantage S-101. Mac Mini. 53,000 tunes.

Comment

• bigburner
      Super Senior Member
      • May 2005

Hi JaonL,

The Rotel RA-05 is rated at 40 watts x 2 into 8 ohms. The recommended amplifier power for the B&W 684 is 25 watts – 150 watts into 8 ohms.

I would speculate that the general opinion from members of this forum is that the RA-05 is underpowered to get the best from a pair of 684s.

If you are keen on integrated amps from Rotel then the RA-1070 would be a much better match for a pair of 684s. However if you only ever listen to music at a low to moderate volume then it's less of an issue.

I would spend a bit more now than waste money later by upgrading because of dissatisfaction, but that's easy for me to say!

Nigel.

Comment

• Briz vegas
        Super Senior Member
        • Mar 2005