X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • P7rancher
    • Jan 2007

How to buy used?

Posting on this forum as I want to own B & W speakers. What safe guards do you use to buy used equipment, escrow service, ratings only?

I want to own a Classe/B&W or Krell or Mc Intosh/B&W system but cannot afford new. So how do you buy and where do you buy used equipment and not get XXXXXXX?

I am new at this and need some help, please be specific as to your advice.

Thanks,
    Steve
  • DeepEndX
    • Feb 2005

1) ratings (positive/negative and powerseller??)
    2) photo (is it directly from the manufacturer's website or is it a photo taken at home/site. If taken from manufacturer's website, ask for a personal taken photo)
    3) if the deal is too good to be true then it is (for example: 800D for less than 10k)
    4) message the seller and have a few conversation to see is the seller legit (equipment knowledge, background...etc)
    5) before you buy, try to ask the seller's telephone number or address to say that you might drop by to check out the equipment

Good luck!

RH

Comment

• Lectoid
      • Jan 2007

Since you said you're new at this, I'll throw in www.audiogon.com. Most of the same rules apply that DeepEndX stated.

Comment

• P7rancher
        • Jan 2007

Do any of you utilize an escrow service when buying audio equipment?

Thanks,
        Steve

Comment

• RobP
          Ultra Senior Member
          • Nov 2004

Hello Steve,

I buy used equipment all of the time, I am in the process of upgrading my system right now to an all Classe/B&W setup. Most of my used goodies come from my dealer, they know what type of gear I am looking for and they call me when it comes in on trade and such. I have bought quite a few pieces from them at prices that I would have never found on A-Gon or online.