X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • juliovideo
    • Mar 2009

DIY Boat Speakers!

Hi ,I'm a newbie......................and I pulled on an adventure to built the Sonus Faber Diy . 8O

Kwaliteit webhosting bij Flexwebhosting Jouw vertrouwde partner sinds 2001

Here are some DIY photos of my creation at my apartment in Florida. :T

materials.

Oak wood
    MDF

48" H x 12"-1/4 W (at front) x 21" D .

Images not available

I have not finished the structure, I think for next week to start putting the side panels.

I thought to put these speakers .........................

I did something about the crossover using this website below...

Design a 3-Way All Pass Crossover for your next Speaker Project.

And with my little knowledge that i have about this, It led to this...

3200 Hertz / 400 Hertz

8 Ohm Tweeter / 8 Ohm Mid / two of 8 Ohm Woofer

Image not available

Recommendations, comments and suggestions.

Thanks Guys =]

---------------------------
    Last edited by theSven; 20 June 2023, 21:46 Tuesday. Reason: Remove broken image links
    "Liberty is the right of every man to be honest, to think and to speak without hypocrisy.."

José Martí (1853 to 1895)
  • Johnloudb
    Super Senior Member
    • May 2007

Originally posted by juliovideo
    Hi ,I'm a newbie......................and I pulled on an adventure to built the Sonus Faber Diy . 8O
    It's obvious you're a newbie from the shotty cabinet work ..... NOT!!!
    Very nice work. :T However as I understand it crossover calculators will give a very rough crossover design. You really need to take some measurements of the individual drivers in the cabinet, using some speaker design software and a microphone.

I have yet to do this, but I've seen how other members on this site design high quality speakers.

Also the driver you chose for the tweeter is a compression driver, I think, and is to be used with a horn.
    John unk:

"Why can't we all just, get along?" ~ Jack Nicholson (Mars Attacks)