X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • DL86
    • Sep 2005

Upgrading Center speaker

I am looking at upgrading my center speaker to either a klipsch RC-64 or a paradigm CC-690. My current main speakers are a pair of paradigm studio 100v3. I have read about huge difference's in sound between klipsch and paradigm but I am after a more lively sound than what my studio 100's currently give me. I have not heard klipsch speakers yet but from what i read about them I may like the sound.

My main is question if I get the klipsch center speaker with paradigm mains will it sound ridiculously out of proportion? Would I be better off getting the CC-690? I cannot perform this before my purchase. Any thoughts would be much appreciated.

Cheers
  • mjb
    Super Senior Member
    • Mar 2005

I think the front three have to match pretty well, otherwise funny things happen when actors move around the sound stage. The centre is also the most important speaker for cinema and dialogue. I have no experience with either of your choices, but I'd definitely stick to the same family from the same brand for the fronts. This applies to the amplification too.
    - Mike

Main System:
    B&W 802D, HTM2D, SCMS
    Classé SSP-800, CA-2200, CA-5100

Comment

• Chris D
      Moderator Emeritus
      • Dec 2000

I always STRONGLY advocate that people match their speaker sets. If you don't, the sound is very distracting, and doesn't match. On sound pans, you'll have a sound travel from one speaker to the next, and jump DRAMATICALLY in sound.

I'd recommend the Paradigm.
      CHRIS

Well, we're safe for now. Thank goodness we're in a bowling alley.
      - Pleasantville

Comment

• George Bellefontaine
        Moderator Emeritus
        • Jan 2001

In my early days of HT I had mismatched front speakers and what a mess when a person's voice changes as they walk across a room. I'd stick with matching speakers, like Chris suggests.
        My Homepage!

Comment

• H.Donald
          • Aug 2004