X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Audiophilenoob
    • Jun 2005

Listening test of most store bought speakers under $30,000

Hello all,
    I'm a noob to this forum but not to audio...been in it for 3 years now...
    to be helpful I thought I'd offer my take on many many first class store bought speakers
    yesterday I spent the day in audio heaven... running all over this state auditioning the best of store bought speakers... Paradigm, B&W, Wilson, Magnepan, Martin Logan, Mcintosh.

to do my part as a currently learning audiophile I thought I would give my hopefully unbiased feelings about every one of them... also I took a friend and will give you her impressions...

the songs played were several 3 doors down songs (one of them live) which I used as a reference as I saw them in concert 1 week ago from this audition (good reference no? ) also I used some classical tracks from mozart, etc. I also used some punk rock like Sum 41 etc... listening tests on every speaker was a minimum of 2 songs... and on most I listened to 5+

let's get to it: Please take the time to read it all as I spent 10 hrs of my time gathering this

Paradigm 11 ($1000 a pair) - 10 feet away - powered by Yamaha receiver 120x5
    highs were quite extended. I believe these are the best speakers at $1000 out right now. it was missing significant low end material. Standing up I noticed that the midbass (what little there was) was still pronounced but midrange and highs all but disappeared. 4 meters away the highs were better while standing but SPL was dramatically reduced

Paradigm 100 ($2200?? a pair) - 10-20 feet away- powered by mark levinson
    the midbass problem with the 11s was fixed. midrange was muddy and harsh at times. Vocals generally were strong but also could overpower midbass. Off-axis reponse was improved but like the 11s distance dramatically reduced output. There was no midbass impact at any signifcant distance over 3 meters away.