X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Kemp
    • Nov 2003

Blues

I am just getting into blues and would like any recommendations for good blues. A good compilation cd perhaps?

Thanks
    Marius
  • Foxman
    • Jan 2003

I just started myslef but here are some I like:
    BB King
    Kenny Wayne Sheppard
    Buddy Guy
    Johnny Lang
    Robert Cray
    Eric Clapton
    IMO

My Movies
    Bad Pics of my system

Comment

• H.Donald
      • Aug 2004

Foxman's choices are all great artists...but there are so many forms of the blues.Most of the aforementioned guys are what I consider blues/rock.Along with people like the late,great Stevie Ray Vaughn,Poppa Chubby and many other of today's artists there is a great deal of rock mixed in with the blues.This is not a bad thing if that is your cup of tea.But, there are also the country blues,piedmount blues,contemporary blues,cajun blues,Chicago blues,Jazz blues and of course "lectric" blues.All are of course related but each has a distintive sound and style.
      Country blues with it's acoustic stylings are at the core of all blues...most of the time just one man singing and telling his story.Some of my favorites are John Henry Barbee,Sleepy John Estes,Papa John Creach...lotta Johns,huh....these folks were recorded in the late 50s to late 60s.
      I love Chicago blues which is the same as "lectric" blues....Muddy Waters played the lectric guitar...a raw,raw electric guitar.Howling Wolf was another great....and Elmore James was also a king during the this time peroid.As a matter of fact it was those 3,along with John Lee Hooker and Buddy Guy who got me hooked on the blues.
      Many years ago in college my roomate was playing "musta done somebody wrong" by the Allman bros...great song.He said if you like that you should hear the original...by Elmore James.After hearing it...I was hooked and have been ever since.