X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Victor
    • Apr 2002

Open discussion as per Chris’s request.

Originally posted by Chris D
    …what would you think, if for starters, you started a new thread where you just tell us all about yourself? We're always interested in members telling us about them, where they're from, what their interests are, what their current A/V setup consists of, what they've owned in the past, etc. If you have a past in the A/V industry, perhaps you could share with us what your education is, how you ended up there, the kind of work you've done, etc.

I think that kind of stuff would be interesting and useful for others. Just as long as we avoid pitfalls like things that would be specific product advertising for companies. How does that sound?
    Chris,

Although your request goes somewhat beyond of what I normally share in the public forum, I’ll bite…a little.

I have a graduate degree in EE and undergraduate in Applied Physics. I went to school in Boston in the mid 80’s. I worked for a number of years for the leading microelectronics company in Boston, - did linear circuit design, - DACs, A/D, op-amps, etc. These days I teach electronics and do lots of consulting and indulge in my hobbies. I also briefly worked for Bryston in the mid 90s. Nice company, but it was not for me.

My audio HT set-up is nearly all done by me on a DIY basis. To quote from my profile on htguide, - I have:

Projector:

Marquee 9500 Ultra front CRT projector with DVI input and internal 1080P capable scalar.

Speakers:

DIY 3-way Linkwitz-inspired dipole speaker in the front. Here is the picture of one front channel

2-way modified Carver Mark IV dipole in the rear. No center channel. DIY sealed sonotube subwoofer with two 15-inch Avalanche drivers, a la Tubezilla (thanks ThomasW). All use heavily modified DCX2496 active digital cross-over in combination with the DEQ2496.

Electronics: