Got any tool recommendations (table saw, router, etc.)?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • JonW
    Super Senior Member
    • Jan 2006

Got any tool recommendations (table saw, router, etc.)?

OK, the speaker and furniture building bug has bit me. (ouch) I need some tools. For the subwoofer that I’m building, I borrowed a router and I used a table saw at work or had the stores do some cutting. It’s time to suck it up and buy the tools, because the list of projects I have in mind keeps growing. I know that with tools, like most things, you get what you pay for. Cheap tools will die early on. At the same time, I’m only using them on the occasional weekend. So I don’t need the super duper professional things. I’m looking for specific recommendations on tools- and any general wisdom, because I’m new to this. My drill may or may not die some time, so any recommendations there are AOK as well. Here are the things I think I need:

-table saw
    -router
    -router bits
    -jig saw (the hand held kind)
    -sander (random orbital?)

Thanks!

-Jon
  • JonMarsh
    Mad Max Moderator
    • Aug 2000

My favorite routers have been the big 2 HP Hitachis, though I also have a DeWalt with dust collection that I like. Generally, unless you have a very good dust collection system, routing should be done out doors. IMO. Just my 0.02. I also have a porter cable router with a permanently attached jasper jig.

You'll find all kinds of opinons with regards to saws. I have a sliding miter saw that cost more than my table saw. My table saw was bought based on weight (relatively light, easy to move around (back surgery a few years ago), easy to setup to be very accurate, a fence that is way out of it's price range in performance, and a sliding miter table. Ryobi BT3100. Check out BT3Central if you're interested or curious.

I built speakers like these with it, for example.