X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Thoth
    • Aug 2014

Khancenter Build: On-Wall Fireplace Surround Phase I

Well, here we go! This will be the first phase of the on-wall fireplace surround project that I first brought up in this thread: http://www.htguide.com/forum/showthr...n-wall-project. Many, many thanks to ---k--- and cjd for their great designs and their patient advice to a complete noob. ;x( I'm hoping for lots more feedback from them and anyone else who wants to chime in as I try to pull this off.

Here is my starting AutoCAD model for a quick sanity check and verification of my volume calculations. I have not yet modeled the braces, rabbets, etc.:

Click image for larger version

Name:	Khancenter-Rev-1.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	68.5 KB
ID:	871360

Showing the dimensions of the MT enclosure was too confusing - it measures 12.1x28.2x14.6 internally, giving me 4.98L. The outer box is 26.2x28.2x66.2 internally, which is 45.36L. Subtracting 7.3L for the outer volume of the MT box and another ~2-3L for the braces should leave me right at 35L. Looks pretty good so far based on the following from Ryan's original Khancenter thread:

Originally posted by ---k---
    Someone was asking for a small center channel again. The Khan would also most fit the bill, but was deep. I remembered that I built it deep for no other reason than I could. I guess I subscribe to the "build as big of a box as you can crowd." And was too lazy to really do more than one model.

Well, correct me if I'm wrong, but it looks like with 2 RS180-8, you can build it much shallower and not give up anything when used with a crossover to a sub. Going with the 20L sealed allows one to reduce the depth to like 14" deep.

If you agree, I'll make a note in the first post. Maybe this would open the design up to more people.

Everything look generally OK so far? Do I need to allow more volume for the drivers and XO's? I'd like to stay with the proposed height and depth, but could easily go wider.

Don