Looking for feedback on a cabinet design...

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • dane_peterson
    • Jan 2014

Looking for feedback on a cabinet design...

Hey guys,
    I got some big-time inspiration from nothing other than a dream few nights back. Had to get the pen to paper, and ultimately decided it was time to try Sketch-Up. How much fun is this? Seriously!

Attached is an image of my mock-up for a TriTrix sealed cabinet (center/monitor). Being a novice, I wanted to get some expert opinions on any issues this cabinet would present before I dump a bunch of time and money into it.

If no major concerns exist, I'm going to give this pair a go. And if they sound good, I'll apply the concept to a few different setups--eventually leading up to the Statements.
    Attached Files
    Last edited by dane_peterson; 07 February 2014, 00:01 Friday.
  • cjd
    Ultra Senior Member
    • Dec 2004

It looks sharp.

The biggest challenge is that these designs don't like significant changes to the baffle, especially driver layout and box width. In order to get the volume in that shape, You'll need to build rather wider than designed, and that may introduce some excess output in a region we're particularly sensitive to.

I'm not sure it can be easily applied to most existing designs.
    diVine Sound - my DIY speaker designs at diVine Audio

Comment

• dane_peterson
      • Jan 2014

Originally posted by cjd
      It looks sharp.

The biggest challenge is that these designs don't like significant changes to the baffle, especially driver layout and box width. In order to get the volume in that shape, You'll need to build rather wider than designed, and that may introduce some excess output in a region we're particularly sensitive to.

I'm not sure it can be easily applied to most existing designs.
      Thanks for the reply.