X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Sylvan
    • Dec 2010

A Statements Build From a DIY Novice

Hi everyone. I've spent the last few days reading up on The Statements and I'm enthralled with the prospect of building a set. I've never done speaker DIY before so I realize this is a bit ambitious, but what the heck. I could start with the Center for practice

I've already cleared it with the g/f that 2011 is going to be my year of DIY. Plans include the Statements L/R and Center, and maybe Statement Monitors or Minis for the surrounds in a 5.1 setup.

I probably do 50/50 movies/music. Interestingly the g/f also gave me the green-light for an attic IB sub system so we don't clutter the floor with sub boxes. This will be a long project and I probably won't even start for another couple of months, but I guess I can just come back and update this thread once I get started.

So naturally, I have a couple of questions before I get too excited.

1. Is this too ambitious for a first-timer? I consider myself pretty hands-on and I do a lot of DIY projects on the house or my cars.

2. Regarding sub integration: I've read some recommend to use a sealed Statement when using subs for HT, but I would like the option of running the fronts full-range for 2-channel music. Would it be a problem to use the regular, ported Statements with an IB sub arrangement crossed over around 40-60 Hz or so? I'm guessing an ideal crossover point would be determined using measurements at the listening position?

3. I was thinking of using dual pairs of binding posts on the main speakers for potential bi-wire/bi-amp ability, kind of a just-in-case feature. Is that really easy to do?

4. Any issues with recessing the mounting plate for the binding posts so they don't stick out so far from the rear of the cabinet?