X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • mx2
    • Mar 2009

My RBR Build! (Help with screws size!)

I'm a newbie building the sealed version of the RBRs. I have the MDF cut to size and now I'm ready to work on the baffles. (Making the holes, recesses and all).

Update: 29 Sept 2010
    Okay, I finally made some progress this week after putting it off when other priorities came up and my amplifier build blew up. It went up in smoke after I put it inside the box even though it worked fine outside of it. :cry: (I am still perplexed unless I unknowingly shorted something... Anyways enough rambling. On my RBR, I'm now done making the driver holes and recesses. Next up is chamfering and screw holes. The tweeter is flipped in the pic because I didn't drill the holes for the tabs yet :P

Now to seek some advice...if any of you experienced builders could help this newbie ops: I would very much appreciate it

I don't have many pictures so far..but I promise more later

I chose to veneer first before making the holes as I don't have a rabbet bit. It did leave some light marks on the surface, but gentle sanding should take care of it. There are actually a few splits in the veneer. I'm inclined to think I got some thin/poorly made BEM off ebay. :M I've tried every tip I could find online to avoid splitting but nothing's worked so far. Oh well...the holes cover most of it and BEM hides the rest quite well after some similar colored wood filler + sanding. I just hope the other surfaces turn out fine.

Update: 30 Sept 2010
    Chamfers done and holes for the tweeter tabs drilled. I also worked out the screw locations but it's getting too dark outside to drill with accuracy now.

Update: 1 Oct 2010
    Drilled the holes and test mounted the drivers. The woofer fits incredibly nice, but the tweeter is slightly off. Also soldered up the wires to the crossover. Guess what wire I used? I had some extra from a DIY speaker cable

Update: 2 Oct 2010