X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • David_D
    • Feb 2008

Hurricane Nut (T-Nut) Evaluation

I thought there maybe some people interested in what I am doing here. I know most people use wood screws to mount drivers and such but; I guess I'm just stubborn

1 Background
    I am a custom machinery builder by trade. The mechanical designer in me really wants to use machine screws. My last project two of these nuts stripped their holes and spun on the screw during assembly. That is unacceptable.

2 Goal
    Try and find a better way of installation to hold these nuts better so they may be used without worry of stripping.

3 Materials
    1. ½” MDF
    2. Gorilla Glue
    3. ‘C’ Drill Bit (.240” dia)
    4. 1/4” Drill Bit (.250” dia)
    5. ‘G’ Drill Bit (.260” dia)
    6. 36pcs #10-24 Hurricane Nuts (McMaster #90598A011) (pic #1)

4 Method
    I will drive test batches of H-Nuts into smaller holes, factory recommended holes, and larger holes, some with Gorilla Glue binder.
    1. 6 samples driven into ‘C’ Holes
    2. 6 samples driven into ¼” Holes
    3. 6 samples driven into ‘G’ Holes
    4. 6 samples driven into ‘C’ Holes with glue
    5. 6 samples driven into ¼” Holes with glue
    6. 6 samples driven into ‘G’ Holes with glue
    7. Test Bonds

5 Preparation
    1. Chased each nut with a #10-24 tap. Noticed better then half of H-Nuts used had some kind of burr or hesitation on the internal threads.
    2. Rinsed H-nuts is a bowl of Lacquer Thinner to remove many cutting oils from the machining process.
    3. Drilled a grid of 36 holes into ½” MDF (pic #2)
    12 - ‘C’
    12 - ¼”
    12 - ‘G’
    4. Hammered 18 H-Nuts into dry holes
    6 - ‘C’
    6 - ¼”
    6 - ‘G’
    As one would suspect it was harder to drive H-Nuts into the smaller holes but, not uncomfortable particularly if supported well.
    5. Applied a small bead of gorilla glue to the fillet of remaining 18 H-Nuts and hammered them into remaining holes. (Pic #3) (Pic #4)
    6 - ‘C’
    6 - ¼”