Project #2: Help me with "re-speakerizing" my pretty enclosures. Suggestions welcome!

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Raptor550
    • May 2007

Project #2: Help me with "re-speakerizing" my pretty enclosures. Suggestions welcome!

The Problem:
    When I move back to Seattle I have some very nice looking custom built cabinets they look like This:

Click image for larger version

Name:	Oblisks-2.webp
Views:	24
Size:	78.7 KB
ID:	943949

They contain some drivers of questionable quality, and I would like to renovate them. Preferably with a Dayton RS255 or RS180 and a Seas silk tweeter so I could have them voiced to the previous pair I built that I would use as back surrounds. My problem is that I have NO IDEA about designing my own crossovers, nor do I have any measurement equipment. I am still a novice, I can solder, read, and that's about it.

I was thinking about modifying the enclosure like so:

Click image for larger version

Name:	Speaker-Greyprints_help.webp
Views:	16
Size:	15.5 KB
ID:	943948

Internal Options?
    Basically I would be gutting all the current speakers and selling them to get cash for better drivers.
    I'm not yet able to design my own crossover and expect good results. So I wanted to use either a Modula MT, M8ta, or Jay's Raptors design in it. As you can see, my baffle and speaker placement would be different than all three, with the M8ta being closest in angels and vertical driver center to center distance. -but could I get away with such a change like above? Its a totally different shape and speaker layout than the modula, and a different volume than the M8ta, and its too big for the Jay_WJ "raptors" crossover.

Airspace Options:
    the two large chambers of the enclosures are 1.4 cubic feet for the bottom and 1.7 cubic feet on top. If the 7" or 8" driver needs a ton of airspace I could combine them by drilling a hole and sealing up the 10" hole.

Sub options: