X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • JamesK
    • Jan 2007

Crossover riddle

It's my first time seeing the VR-11 by Von Schweikert. How many ways is this crossed over and why is there a ribbon on the back of the speaker?

Here's link to picture.

It's fascinating to see this many drivers on one box. I can't even imagine how it all crosses over.
  • SQdude
    • May 2007

Yes very interesting, it looks to be a 4-way design (not including the bass tower next to it which probably controlled via active XO). I presume the tweeter on the back generates a larger, more spacious sound field. What does the bass driver say on the cone, it looks like a crescent reminiscent of Diamond Audio (which is a car-fi brand)? Any idea on what retail price is?

Comment

• JamesK
      • Jan 2007

The bass tower is the back of the speaker.

Comment

• Hdale85
        Moderator Emeritus
        • Jan 2006

Yeah I'd say a 5 way?

Comment

• Jed
          Ultra Senior Member
          • Apr 2005

Originally posted by Dougie085
          Yeah I'd say a 5 way?

so who's going to clone it? That what I want to know. :T

Comment

• KJP
            • Nov 2004

Manufacturer says it is a 6 way.

Comment

• Hdale85
              Moderator Emeritus
              • Jan 2006

The subwoofers on the back look like Diamond audio. The woofers look like Seas Excel 's. Not sure about the rest.

Comment

• Hdale85
                Moderator Emeritus
                • Jan 2006

Wow 7.5 feet tall and 693lbs per tower.

Comment

• cjd
                  Ultra Senior Member
                  • Dec 2004

Originally posted by Jed
                  so who's going to clone it? That what I want to know. :T
                  Someone with some cash to waste?
                  diVine Sound - my DIY speaker designs at diVine Audio

Comment

• JamesK
                    • Jan 2007

They're only $150,000 a pair.

Comment

• cjd
                      Ultra Senior Member
                      • Dec 2004