HT front, which speakers, Audax HT, Modula Mt's, Natalie P's, BAMTM? please help

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • clearwaterms
    • Nov 2006

HT front, which speakers, Audax HT, Modula Mt's, Natalie P's, BAMTM? please help

okay,

I am new to the DIY audio community but am chomping at the bit as to which project to try first. let me start by saying that I am trying to accomplish. i am trying to build the front three speakers for my home theatre. I would like some advice. The way I see it is that I have a few options

#1, the audax HT kit the front MTM's and the WTMW for the center
    #2, the Natalie P's and wait for jon marsh to design his WTMW (rumors say soon is what I read somewhere)
    #3, The Modula MT's (least expensive option) but will they give me the SPL i need?
    #4, the BAMTM, like the Natalie P's these speakers are MTM, which means my receiver is only going to see a 4 ohm load, and I'm not sure if it will like that, the receiver has a VERY sensitive overload protection circuit on it, so there is a good chance it will not like a 4 ohm MTM speaker. also there is no centers to match the BAMTM speaker, and Zaph puts on his site that the speaker would not be good in a horizontal placement due to it's poor off-axis response

I am looking for seamless integration of the front stage, that is important to me, so matching timbre is obviously something that I am taking into account very heavily. I have a sub woofer, and the ability to run these speakers in a small mode.

My concerns are this, with the audax HT kit, the build looks a little more difficult then with a basic two way speaker. With the Natalie P's there is no promise of a timbre matched center, just a center with matching drivers. with the modula MT's all the speakers would be matched, but because of the smaller driver count, the max SPL might be lower then my expectations.