X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Jordan
    • Jun 2006

Dayton DA-175 project cabinet

I just finally made my mind on what project to build. I chose those DA-175 because of their good bass.

I just posted a thread on parts-express.com board and go no answer to my cabinet question...

I have the driver selection, and the crossover schematics, (thanks to M. Jakubin). I have tried many of the cabinet design softwares suggested here and there on DIY websites, but since I am a newbie, I just don't understand the recommendations they give.

Here is the link for the crossover schematics. I think it has been designed by M. Pete Schumacher.

Click image for larger version

Name:	DA175-K1MTMWWproject.gif
Views:	25
Size:	95.2 KB
ID:	943024

Here is the link for the T/S parameters for the DA175 driver.

here is the link for the T/S param. for the Hi-Vi K1

What I want is a floorstander, the volume isn't a problem. I also don't wan't to use a subwoofer so I would like a vented cabinet that produces good bass.

My 2 questions are:

1- Anyone has a plan for the cabinet? Precise plan, telling where to put braces, the height of each driver, the exact size and configuration or the port (tube), et...

2- Where do you find inductors of 1,2 mH that are .11 Ohm? (same for the other inductors of the xover) I could'nt find the on either partsexpress.com or madisound.com. Or is the Ohm value not important? I don't know anything in that electronic stuff
    Last edited by theSven; 25 June 2023, 23:10 Sunday. Reason: Update image location
  • Jed
    Ultra Senior Member
    • Apr 2005

You will want to ask Pete what the baffle layout is because he used it to model the crossover. If the baffle is not exactly as he modeled, your results will not mirror his prediction. That should be your first step. Next, as for the low DCR of coils, you can try North Creek audio (air core recommended), or get a steel laminate core inductor if on a budget.

Jed

Comment

• ThomasW
      Moderator Emeritus