About ready to frame- Some final opinions from HTguide.

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • bimmer528
    • Sep 2004

About ready to frame- Some final opinions from HTguide.

Hey all,

My bro in law and I posted a while back on building our theater and we got some great advice. (thanks basement jack!).

We are about to get started and I would like to inform you on what we are going to do. If you have anything to add or subtract, please post a reply.

The constants in the basement theater consist of 2 sided very think foundation fieldstone wall. The other two are other basement rooms. Our concern isn't to block noise out of the basement so much as it is above. Above is where we want the noise and vibration dead. The house is over 100 years old, boiler was ripped out and forced air was put in.

We were given advice on staggering the studs but we are not going to do it. Reason being, I am a carpenter by trade but only have some framing experience. I go about as advanced as a normal stud wall under 10 feet. This should get the job done since we are just building it as a normal room except for the ceiling and this is where the advice or last thoughts are needed.

We need to frame the ceiling a bit lower because of utilities we cant do anythying about.

So, you know what were doing in a nutshell, let me tell ya the important things we are doing to cut the sound and let me know your opinion.

-Vent's secured very tight to prevent vibration.
    -Every new stud put up, nailed down AS WELL as liquid nailed to again reduce vibration.
    -Were adding 2 top plates to make room for (2) 3/4'' sheetrock attatched to the ceiling. The first plate we are directly fastening to the joists. The second is our wall as we built it from the ground, then lifted to place. The house is a century old so were going to need to shimmy between the two plates because of unlevel floor.
    -(1) 3/4' drywall for the wall's.