• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Gordon Moore
    Moderator Emeritus
    • Feb 2002

Laptop EXPLODES (literally)

From HardOCP.com:

I work as a pc technician for America's largest electronics retailer. Today a customer brought his laptop in for repair and stated that it "exploded". After five years as a tech I thought I had seen it all and was wondering about his perception of "explosion". As I cracked open the box of a five month old Compaq Presario I was hit with a foul stench and immediately knew the chosen words of "explosion" were appropriate. Somehow, someway....this laptops battery totally exploded causing a large fireball and partial disintegration of the computer. The battery caught fire sending a fireball through the front of the laptop blowing a three inch hole through what used to be the floppy on the opposite side of the case. I know that any battery has the potential for danger given the correct circumstances, however this battery met a truly violent end under normal operating conditions. The customer stated that his entire table was burnt to a crisp and would of been true of the whole house if a fire extinguisher was not as handy as it was.

"A RONSTER!"
    Sell crazy someplace else, we're all stocked up here.
  • Chris D
    Moderator Emeritus
    • Dec 2000

:wtf:

CHRIS
    Luke: "Hey, I'm not such a bad pilot myself, you know"
    CHRIS

Well, we're safe for now. Thank goodness we're in a bowling alley.
    - Pleasantville

Comment

• Andrew Pratt
      Moderator Emeritus
      • Aug 2000

Yikes 8O

Comment

• viragshah
        • Jun 2004

Compaq Explosion

Hi
        I guess my laptop also exploded similiarly, in the Business School and it was on fire. The building also had to be evacuated. Do these incidents happen often? Did anyone get compensation or replacement from Compaq?