X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • max012200
    • Sep 2004

Projector Prices and comparison to RPTV's

I'm a newbie and I have some questions. I am building an entertainment room in my basement.

I would like a FPTV system and here's why: no light problem-no windows, more bang (picture view) for the buck, great for DVD viewing, relatively big room (20 x 22). I do however want to used the system to also watch regular satellite signal TV - how does that look on a FPTV? I hear it's I am considering three projectors: Sanyo Z2, Panasonic L500 or at the low end Optoma H30. I believe from an HDTV standpoint the first two will work great but most of the signals (right now anyway until I switch to an HD satellite receiver) will be regular non-HD. By the way, initially I'll use the wall (painted Misty Evening Gray) as the screen with a fixed screen in the future.

I understand the pricing is stabilized right now but what are your opinions on when the next price drop will be and how much? The Sanyo goes for average $1700, Panny about $1600 and the Optoma $1200 for now - how low will this go? The reason I ask is I have a feeling that prices could drop by Christmas another 10-20% for several reasons: holidays, new products coming in and the election afterglow. If this is the case I may wait on the Sanyo or Panny. My MAX budget is $1500 and of course if I opt for the Optoma I'll have extra for better cables and connections or a screen - that's the riddle I have.

Does anyone have an opinion about the FP choices I have? Based on the points I've made and my inexperience what do you think would work for now and the future.

Thanks in advance for any comments given and for playing.
  • George Bellefontaine
    Moderator Emeritus
    • Jan 2001