X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • CraigJ
    • Feb 2006

720p Buying Advice

I’ve been enjoying an Infocus 4805/Bravo D1 combination for a couple of years and am thinking of moving up. With the current price slashing of high-end 720p players, I am considering purchasing the Sharp Z12000 MKII (new $1400) or the Marantz VP12S4 ($1999 refurbished). My basement “bat cave” theatre room is 14’ x 20’ with a 94” screen, seating distance is 2x width of screen . We use the projector for 85% movies and 15% over the air HD.

Unfortunately, I am not able to view any projectors in my city, so your expert advice is really appreciated. Are there any additional projectors in this price range that I should be looking at? Finally, is it the “wrong time” to purchase 720p that’s priced close to 1080p (I hope that made sense)?

Thank in advance for your advice.

Craig
  • Dean McManis
    Moderator Emeritus
    • May 2003

There are a lot of very good new 720p projectors in the sub $1500 range today.

Panasonic PT-AX200U
    Sony VPL-AW15
    Optoma HD7100
    Mitsubishi HC3000

1080p projectors still cost at least twice as much, but it depends on your budget.
    The Sharp Z12K is a nice projector at that price, and a match in capabilities and quality with these newer units, but I don't think that it has HDMI inputs. That alone is not a deal killer though. The Marantz VP12S4 is also about 2 years old, and it does have HDMI input. But it has 700 lumens output as opposed to 1000+ for most of the others. This also is not a deal killer depending on your room settings and screen size.

Comment

• Hdale85
      Moderator Emeritus
      • Jan 2006