X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • PaulDF
    • May 2005

I'm new to projectors - have questions

I've been doing a lot of research on PJs in the last while and I'm almost ready to take the plunge. I pretty much had it narrowed down to the Panasonic model, but had yet to even see a high def pj in person.

Yesterday my wife and I went to see some demo models and they happened to have the Panny set up! I am no expert in video but I'll tell you what we thought.

The picture looked quite good, no pixel structure visible unless I got within 12-18 inches or so. No screen door effect that I could see. And the picture looked good from any angle (very cool).

But we did notice that the colors were not very vivid/vibrant. This could very well just be a setup/calibration problem. Perhaps this is what is meant by a "soft" picture?? This is the main reason why I am posting this thread... I want to know just how vibrant the colors really should be with a (or this) front projector...

The salesman suggested the problem might be with the DVD player (Bose) or the movie itself (Incredibles).

I also had a look at the HitachiPJ-TX100. It seemed to have quite bright and lively color (watching Star Wars) but I also immediately saw the so-called screen door effect (which I had never seen before but managed to recognize!)

Unfortunately, the store did not have any high def sources hooked up to either pj, so I am really curious about just how the Panasonic would look with a high def source.

I have also read a lot about vertical banding with the Panny. I didn't see anything like this in my short (approx. 20 min.) viewing time.

Also, later in the day I walked through a lineup of RPTVs and the pictures all looked terrible... (not high def) Made me think if a pj had even close to the same vibrant color I've seen on some high def sets, I know I would never regret buying one.
  • Paul H
    • Feb 2004