X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • NHT
    • Mar 2004

1098 and SPL

Ok guys. I got my Radio Shack digital spl ready. This is my first time calibrating with one so could someone please guide me on exactly what to do. I have the Rotel 1098. I also have the Avia disk handy too. Thanks
  • Aussie Geoff
    Super Senior Member
    • Oct 2003

Try this

NHT,

Here is a short form answer using the RSP-1098 test tones.
    • Set all your speakers to SMALL etc as per the other’s recommendations. 80 Hz crossover for centre and rears, your choice of 60 or 80 for the front left and right.
    • Use the 1098 DELAY SETUP menu to set the distances of ALL speakers including the subwoofer from a central listening position
    • Set your SPL meter to C weighting and slow (I don't know if your model has a range but if it does pick the one with 70-80 dB in it
    • Sit in a central listening position in front of the TV / SCREEN etc
    • Bring up the 1098 TEST TONE Menu and the use the + and - keys on the remote to set all speaker levels at 0 db
    • Use the up and down keys to get to Front LEFT speaker (you will be hearing a continuous test tone from each speaker you select
    • Point the SPL meter at the speaker (keeping it a little away from your body)
    • Adjust the volume upwards using the 1098 VOLUME CONTROL on the remote until the display on the SPL meter shows 75 db (or close to it (in the range 74.5 to 75.5) – The level on the TEST TONE menu will still be showing 0 db
    • Leaving the VOLUME control untouched, use the remotes down key to move to the CENTRE speaker. Note use the + or – key to adjust the volume of this on the test tone menu until it is also reading close to 75 db on the SPL meter. Typically this is a small adjustment like +2 dB
    • Do the same for the RIGHT speaker. This will often be 0 db or close to the Left speaker as they are usually very similar.