X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • BW4me
    • Nov 2005

Rotel RSX 1067 Analog inputs

I'm looking to purchase a nicer BD player to use with my RSX 1067 and was told by a local retailer to get one that has the analog audio outputs to use for better uncompressed audio. This was new info to me as I had assumed optical/coax gave the best audio. But since the RSX 1067 has that capability I'd want to use it if this is preferable.

Can anyone educate me on this? I want to better understand this before I just go out and get any BD player.

Steve
  • mjb
    Super Senior Member
    • Mar 2005

I'm no expert on this, but....
    The RSX 1067 doesn't decode the new HD formats.
    S/PDIF doesn't have the bandwidth for the HD formats. You need to use HDMI audio in to a processor. S/PDIF will obviously work with AC3 or DTS.
    Some players include INTERNAL decoding of the HD formats, and present the result on analog ports which can/should be fed to a pre/pro with a by-pass mode... this is the legacy solution, adding HD format enjoyment to older processors (with a by-pass mode).
    Some players offer internal TRANSCODING, and can re-encode the HD format to DTS which will work over S/PDIF.
    Yes, its confusing...
    - Mike

Main System:
    B&W 802D, HTM2D, SCMS
    Classé SSP-800, CA-2200, CA-5100

Comment

• hifiguymi
      Super Senior Member
      • Mar 2007

There isn't an easy answer for this. There are some BD players that have multi-channel analog outputs and built in decoders for all of the HD formats that aren't worth buying and some that are. Most of the lesser expensive ones don't have a very good analog stage and don't have full control over speaker distance, level, or crossover. To get a BD player that has that stuff costs $1500.00 or more in my experience. With the $200.00 - $400.00 players you're better off listening to the lossy codecs and have the RSX-1067 do all the work.

Eric

Comment

• BW4me
        • Nov 2005