rotel and b&w setup questions - confused.

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • aquaanox
    • Feb 2007

rotel and b&w setup questions - confused.

guys - i need some clarification since im fairly new to all this high end audio : )

what i have is this -

rotel 1057 reciever
    CM7 fronts
    CMC center
    CM1 rear surrounds
    Velodyne spl1100r sub
    Pioneer 5070 50 inch plasma
    Monster Line Conditioner
    XBOX 360 (for DVDs and gaming of corse), setup for 5.1
    comcast cable box, setup for 5.1
    IPOD connected to the CD input on the reciever.. (everything is Apple lossless format).

would eventually be adding a turntable, and dedicated CD player.

I have the reciever setup for just using the FL and FR speakers as large, in stereo mode, and all 4 speakers set as small for all other modes. Sub is turned off in stereo mode as well.

I realise i need a phono preamp for the turntable and should probably get a 2 channel amplifier for music. Im really confused as to how all this will work. First the 1057 is a 75W x 5 channel reciever. I will use the pre-outs on the back to connect a 2 channel 100W + amplifier ? right ? (im doing this so i can play 2 channel music from the CM7's only via a dedicated amp). I still want to use this overall system with 5.1 surround sounds for movies etc. So wont connecting the amp to the fronts cause some sort of a Wattage imbalance between the fronts and the rest of the speakers. Will i still be using the volume conrol knob on the 1057 for all 5 channels ? How does all this work ? please excuse my ignorance.

~thanks in advance!
    Last edited by aquaanox; 19 February 2007, 18:53 Monday.
  • Blindamood
    • Sep 2003