X
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • The Reviewer Formerly Known As Obi
    • Feb 2004

New RMB-1095 on the way...Question

Greetings. I am new to HTGuide, but some of you may know me from other forums.

I am about join the "Rotel club" and I have a question of a technical nature about the amp I am about to add to my system. Actually, a couple of questions...

First, I understand the 1095 has two torroidal transformers. A review from the year 2000 indicates one tranformer is larger than the other with three channels running off the larger one and the remaining two channels on the smaller one.. However, the specs on the Rotel site for the current model indicate each transformer is 1.2 kVA. The questions I have are, 1) has Rotel changed the design of the 1095 with two identical transformers, and 2) what is the channel configuration vis-a-vie the transformers (which channels are wired to which transformer).

These questions lead me to the second part of this, and that is how some of the more experienced Rotel owners might recommend powering my particular set up. For reference, the 5-channel 1095 will be powering only three speakers, the left main, right main, and center speakers in my system. These speakers are B&W Nautilus 804s on either side with the Nautilus HTM1 in the middle.

If I go with what I am calling a basic configuration, that would be utilizing a single channel per speaker. The advantage of this that I can see is using only three of the five channels allows greater current and power reserves for the three channels as well as less load on the amp and thereby less heat generated. If I go this way, I will want to put the center channel on one transformer and the left/right mains on the other.